ICU Ventilated.jpg

THERE ARE NO MORE SURGEONS...

“There are no more surgeons, urologists, orthopaedists — we are only doctors who suddenly become part of a single team to face this tsunami that has overwhelmed us.” - Dr Daniele Macchini, Bergamo, Italy


A pandemic diary of an Intensive Care Consultant at the James Cook University Hospital in Middlesbrough

 
Search

Hope

Bank Holiday Monday 25th May 2020 Figures for 24rd May UK COVID Deaths 116 / Total 36,793 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 223...

The Incredible Shrinking ICU

Sunday 24th May 2020 Figures for 23rd May UK COVID Deaths 282 / Total 36,675 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 223 All COVID...

It’s Grim Up North?

Friday 22nd May 2020 Figures for 21st May UK COVID Deaths 338 / Total 36,042 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 223 All COVID...

Rehabilitation

Thursday 21st May 2020 Figures for 20th May UK COVID Deaths 363 / Total 35,704 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 220 All COVID...

Nostalgia

Wednesday 20th May 2020 Figures for 19th May UK COVID Deaths 545 / Total 35,341 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 220 All COVID...

Risk, Riskier, Riskiest

Tuesday 19th May 2020 Figures for 18th May UK COVID Deaths 160 / Total 34,796 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 217 All COVID...

Visiting Time

Monday 18th May 2020 Figures for 17th May UK COVID Deaths 170 / Total 34,636 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 216 All COVID...

What a Difference a Day Makes

Sunday 17th May 2020 Figures for 16th May UK COVID Deaths 468 / Total 34,466 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 216 All COVID...

Reunion

Saturday 16th May 2020 Figures for 15th May UK COVID Deaths 384 / Total 33,998 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 216 All COVID...

Endgame

Friday 15th May 2020 Figures for 14th May UK COVID Deaths 428 / Total 33,614 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 215 All COVID...

Hot Spot

Thursday 14th May 2020 Figures for 13th May UK COVID Deaths 494 / Total 33,186 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 214 All COVID...

No Health without Mental Health

Wednesday 13th May 2020 Figures for 12th May UK COVID Deaths 627 / Total 32,692 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 213 All COVID...

Defying the Odds

Tuesday 12th May 2020 Figures for 11th May UK COVID Deaths 210 / Total 32,065 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 210 I would like...

Pub Maths

Monday 11th May 2020 Figures for 10th May UK COVID Deaths 269 / Total 31,855 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 204 All COVID...

Stay Alert

Sunday 10th May 2020 Figures for 9th May UK COVID Deaths 346 / Total 31,587 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 204 All COVID...

Deadly

Saturday 9th May 2020 Figures for 8th May UK COVID Deaths 626 / Total 31,241 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 204 All COVID...

VE Day

Friday 8th May 2020 Figures for 7th May UK COVID Deaths 539 / Total 30,615 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 204 All COVID cases...

I’m sure I’ve had it, you know…

Thursday 7th May 2020 Figures for 6th May UK COVID Deaths 649 / Total 30,076 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 199 Yesterday the...

Shampoo & Set

Wednesday 6th May 2020 Figures for 5th May UK COVID Deaths 693 / Total 29,427 James Cook Hospital – Total COVID deaths – 199 Things have...

 
 

CONTACT

Thanks for submitting!